• Light as Feather

    by Zoe Aarsen Year Published: 2018

    Call Number: FIC AARSEN Sci/Fi Fantasy

    McKenna Brady thinks her junior year of high school is going to be the best ever . . . however, everything changes the night of [her friend] Olivia's Sweet Sixteen sleepover birthday party. Violet, the shy, mysterious new girl in town, suggests the girls play a scary game called Light as a Feather, Stiff as a Board, during which she makes up elaborate stories about the future ways in which beautiful Olivia, brassy Candace, and athletic Mischa will die. The game unsettles McKenna because she's already escaped death once in her life, but she doesn't want to ruin her friends' fun. It's only a game, she reminds herself. But it doesn't seem like a harmless game a week later when Olivia dies unexpectedly in a violent car crash, exactly as Violet predicted. And something begins haunting McKenna's bedroom at night, leaving her clues that all seem to point to Violet.

    Comments (-1)
  • Tales of the Peculiar

    by Ranson Riggs Year Published: 2017

    Call Number: FIC RIGGS Sci/Fi Fantasy

    A collection of original stories, inspired by the "Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children" series, that reveal secrets of peculiar history.

    Comments (-1)
  • The playbook : 52 rules to aim, shoot, and score in this game called life

    by Kwame Alexander Year Published: 2017

    Call Number: 796.01 ALE

    Kwame Alexander shares poetry and inspiring lessons about the rules of life, as well as uplifting quotes from athletes such as Stephen Curry and Venus Williams and other exemplars like Sonia Sotomayor and Michelle Obama in this motivational and inspirational book just right for graduates of any age and anyone needing a little encouragement.

    Comments (-1)
  • I have the right to : a high school survivor's story of sexual assault, justice, and hope

    by Chrissy Prout Year Published: 2018

    Call Number: 362.88 PRO

    The numbers are staggering: nearly one in five girls ages fourteen to seventeen have been the victim of a sexual assault or attempted sexual assault. This is the true story of one of those girls . . . This memoir is more than an account of a horrific event. It takes a magnifying glass to the institutions that turn a blind eye to such behavior and a society that blames victims rather than perpetrators.

    Comments (-1)
  • Lighting for Cinematography

    by David Landau Year Published: 2014

    Call Number: 777 LAN

    A how-to book on the art, craft and practice of lighting for film and video for students and filmmakers.

    Comments (-1)
  • Children of Blood and Bone

    by Tomi Adeyemi Year Published: 2018

    With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi’s West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

    Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

    But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

    “One of the biggest young adult fiction debut book deals of theyear.” ―Teen Vogue

    Comments (-1)
  • Refugee

    by Alan Gratz Year Published: 2017

    FIC GRATZ - Historical Fiction

    "Although separated by continents and decades, Josef, a Jewish boy livng in 1930s Nazi Germany; Isabel, a Cuban girl trying to escape the riots and unrest plaguing her country in 1994; and Mahmoud, a Syrian boy in 2015 whose homeland is torn apart by violence and destruction, embark on harrowing journeys in search of refuge, discovering shocking connections that tie their stories together"--Provided by publisher.

    Comments (-1)
  • Long Way Down

    by Jason Reynolds Year Published: 2017

    FIC REYNOLDS- Realistic Fiction

    An ode to Put the Damn Guns Down, this is National Book Award finalist and New York Times bestseller Jason Reynolds’s fiercely stunning novel that takes place in sixty potent seconds—the time it takes a kid to decide whether or not he’s going to murder the guy who killed his brother.

    Comments (-1)
  • The Fall

    by James Preller Year Published: 2015

    FIC PRELLER - Realistic Fiction

    The summer before school starts, Sam's friend and classmate Morgan Mallen kills herself. Morgan had been bullied. Maybe she kissed the wrong boy. Or said the wrong thing. What about that selfie that made the rounds? Morgan was this, and Morgan was that. But who really knows what happened?

    As Sam explores the events leading up to the tragedy in journal format, he must face a difficult and life-changing question: Why did he keep his friendship with Morgan a secret? And could he have done something-anything-to prevent her final actions?

    Comments (-1)
  • Turtles All the Way Down

    by John Green Year Published: 2017

    FIC GREEN - Realistic Fiction

    “A tender story about learning to cope when the world feels out of control.” – People

    Sixteen-year-old Aza never intended to pursue the mystery of fugitive billionaire Russell Pickett, but there’s a hundred-thousand-dollar reward at stake and her Best and Most Fearless Friend, Daisy, is eager to investigate. So together, they navigate the short distance and broad divides that separate them from Russell Pickett’s son, Davis.

    Comments (-1)
  • The Beauty that Remains

    by Ashley Woodfolk Year Published: 2018

    FIC WOODFOLK - Realistic Fiction

    Bring out the tissues: this deftly written tale of three teenagers coping with love and loss will pull heartstrings. Logan, Shay, and Autumn are loosely connected by the now-defunct band called Unravelling Lovely. As the band has imploded, so have their lives.

    Comments (-1)